Mandyland

Where everyone has celebrity status.

Back to Life, Back to Reality September 6, 2012

Filed under: Faith,Life — mandy @ 5:46 pm
Tags: , ,

After a summer full of camps, conferences, overseas travel, VBS, and a quick vacation, I finally feel like I’m coming back around to reality.

I often wonder if we’ve forgotten what that word really means. Reality.  According to tv, it’s highly produced, over dramatic “real- life” activity.  But let’s be honest.  That’s not real at all.  It may start out that way, but then quickly gets edited and altered to increase ratings. But we watch it and laugh or cringe and talk about it with our friends.  I’m the worst about it!  Reality is defined as the quality or state of being real.  Reality is this;  We are a people in need of rescue.

In April, I began working at a church in Rowlett as the Children’s Director.  I love these kids.  I adore getting to see Jesus mold their little hearts.  But I’ve learned I haven’t had to teach them to be bad or start trouble.  They get that all on their own.  It’s my job to partner with their parents to help them grow in the Word and to know Christ.  I want them to fall in love with Him and serve Him.   I pray daily for their salvation.  They need Him!  We need Him!  Christ came that we might have life and live it to the fullest! (John 10:10)  He lives so that we can have relationship with him.  Real. Life. Relationship.  Not collagen injected stories and made up drama.

Reality isn’t always perfect.  It’s often messy, difficult, and painful.  It’s also beautiful and rewarding, and fun.  But in those messes and through that pain, Jesus is faithful.  And in those moments of beauty and fun, He is true.  He is the same yesterday, today, and forever.  He redeems our mistakes and our failures. (Psalm 34:22) He takes great delight in us. (Zephaniah 3:17)  We rejoice in Him! (Psalm 32:11)

My reality looks a bit like this:  I hate folding laundry.  I’m selfish, prideful, and rude.  I make mistakes and I learn from them.  I love my friends and family deeply.   I care way too much about what people think of me.  I’m good a trivia. I might be addicted to Diet Dr. Pepper.  But the best part of this reality?  Jesus rescued me! (2 Timothy 4:18)  He is my reward!   Real life isn’t about who gets the final rose or who wins a recording contract. Real life is about making much of Christ and doing all that I can so that others might know Him and make much of His name forever. (Thanks Jason, for this reference) Our reality is a beautiful picture of grace.  Offered freely and without limit.   Because of God’s great love, our past, our future, our reality is secure.  I’ll close with one of my favorite passages of scripture.

Ephesians 2: 4-10

But God, being rich in mercy, because of the great love with which he loved us, even when we were dead in our trespasses, made us alive together with Christ—by grace you have been saved— and raised us up with him and seated us with him in the heavenly places in Christ Jesus, so that in the coming ages he might show the immeasurable riches of his grace in kindness toward us in Christ Jesus. For by grace you have been saved through faith. And this is not your own doing; it is the gift of God, not a result of works, so that no one may boast. 10 For we are his workmanship, created in Christ Jesus for good works, which God prepared beforehand, that we should walk in them.

 

Leave a Reply

